MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#26
Seung Hwan Oh
ERA S K
3.89 18 41
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 5-10 / 215 NFBC ADP: 69.88
Position: RPBorn: 7/15/1982 Birthplace: Jeongeup, South Korea
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Cardinals (2016)


Latest News
July 21 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh allowed one run - zero earned - on two hits in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 11-4 on Friday. Oh struck out one, ending the game with a 3.98 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
July 19 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the New York Mets 7-3 on Wednesday. Oh did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.07 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
July 14 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh fell to 1-5, allowing three runs on two hits and one walk in 0.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-2 on Friday. Oh did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.17 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Josh Bell hit a three-run homer off Oh with one out in the bottom of the ninth inning.
July 8 4:37 PM PT5:37 PM MT6:37 PM CT7:37 PM ET19:37 ET23:37 GMT7:37 4:37 PM MST6:37 PM EST7:07 PM VEN3:37 UAE (+1)6:37 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh recorded his 18th save, allowing no runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the New York Mets 4-1 on Saturday. Oh did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
July 6 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh recorded his 17th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Miami Marlins 4-3 on Thursday. Oh struck out two, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Oh pitched around a leadoff single by J.T. Realmuto in the ninth for his 17th save in 20 chances. After issuing an intentional walk to Justin Bour, who homered off him Wednesday night, Oh fanned Martin Prado to end it.
July 6 9:16 PM PT10:16 PM MT11:16 PM CT12:16 AM ET0:16 ET4:16 GMT12:16 9:16 PM MST11:16 PM EST11:46 PM VEN8:16 UAE11:16 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Miami Marlins 9-6 on Wednesday. Oh struck out one, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
July 4 5:21 PM PT6:21 PM MT7:21 PM CT8:21 PM ET20:21 ET0:21 GMT8:21 5:21 PM MST7:21 PM EST7:51 PM VEN4:21 UAE (+1)7:21 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Miami Marlins 5-2 on Tuesday. Oh struck out one, ending the game with a 3.58 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
July 2 9:24 AM PT10:24 AM MT11:24 AM CT12:24 PM ET12:24 ET16:24 GMT0:24 9:24 AM MST11:24 AM EST11:54 AM VEN20:24 UAE11:24 AM CT-Seung Hwan Oh did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Washington Nationals 2-1 on Saturday. Oh struck out two, ending the game with a 3.68 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
June 28 10:01 AM PT11:01 AM MT12:01 PM CT1:01 PM ET13:01 ET17:01 GMT1:01 10:01 AM MST12:01 PM EST12:31 PM VEN21:01 UAE12:01 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh blew his third save, allowing one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-5 on Tuesday. Oh did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Oh has now allowed runs in five of his last eight relief appearances, yielding seven runs in eight innings in those outings. He has served up three home runs in his last six outings - the same number he surrendered in his first 27.
June 26 7:43 AM PT8:43 AM MT9:43 AM CT10:43 AM ET10:43 ET14:43 GMT22:43 7:43 AM MST9:43 AM EST10:13 AM VEN18:43 UAE9:43 AM CT-Seung Hwan Oh did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-4 on Sunday. Oh did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
June 24 8:35 AM PT9:35 AM MT10:35 AM CT11:35 AM ET11:35 ET15:35 GMT23:35 8:35 AM MST10:35 AM EST11:05 AM VEN19:35 UAE10:35 AM CT-Seung Hwan Oh fell to 1-4, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3 on Friday. Oh did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.71 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Though he's converted 16 of his last 17 save chances, Oh has been quite shaky lately. The St. Louis closer has allowed at least one run in four of his last six appearances and opponents are hitting .370 against him during that period.
June 22 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh recorded his 16th save, allowing one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 7-6 on Wednesday. Oh struck out one, ending the game with a 3.55 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
June 20 8:45 PM PT9:45 PM MT10:45 PM CT11:45 PM ET23:45 ET3:45 GMT11:45 8:45 PM MST10:45 PM EST11:15 PM VEN7:45 UAE (+1)10:45 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 8-1 on Tuesday. Oh struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 16 7:59 AM PT8:59 AM MT9:59 AM CT10:59 AM ET10:59 ET14:59 GMT22:59 7:59 AM MST9:59 AM EST10:29 AM VEN18:59 UAE9:59 AM CT-Seung Hwan Oh fell to 1-3, allowing two runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-4 on Thursday. Oh struck out one, ending the game with a 3.48 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It was the second time in three games that Oh gave up a pair of runs, and both instances came at Busch Stadium. The Cardinals closer might be happy the team is headed on a six-game road trip. Oh has been scored upon in seven of his 16 appearances at home but not once in his last 11 appearances on the road.
June 14 8:14 AM PT9:14 AM MT10:14 AM CT11:14 AM ET11:14 ET15:14 GMT23:14 8:14 AM MST10:14 AM EST10:44 AM VEN19:14 UAE10:14 AM CT-Seung Hwan Oh allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-5 on Tuesday. Oh did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
June 11 5:16 PM PT6:16 PM MT7:16 PM CT8:16 PM ET20:16 ET0:16 GMT8:16 5:16 PM MST7:16 PM EST7:46 PM VEN4:16 UAE (+1)7:16 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh recorded his 15th save, allowing two runs on four hits in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5 on Sunday. Oh struck out two, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It's only the second time in Oh's past 21 appearance in which he's allowed an earned run. The St. Louis closer still owns an excellent 1.54 ERA since April 18 and has converted 15 of his last 16 save chances.
June 10 10:46 PM PT11:46 PM MT12:46 AM CT1:46 AM ET1:46 ET5:46 GMT13:46 10:46 PM MST12:46 AM EST1:16 AM VEN9:46 UAE12:46 AM CT-Seung Hwan Oh recorded his 14th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 3-2 on Friday. Oh struck out one, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Oh now owns a 0.81 ERA over 20 appearances since April 18 and has converted 13 of 14 save opportunities during that stretch. Unfortunately for fantasy owners, he hasn't been getting many chances lately pitching for a St. Louis club that's 6-17 since May 16.
June 8 12:39 PM PT1:39 PM MT2:39 PM CT3:39 PM ET15:39 ET19:39 GMT3:39 12:39 PM MST2:39 PM EST3:09 PM VEN23:39 UAE2:39 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-2 on Thursday. Oh did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.67 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
June 1 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh recorded his 13th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-0 on Thursday. Oh struck out two, ending the game with a 2.77 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: After a rough few outings to begin the season, Oh has gone 13 for 14 in save opportunities behind a 1.21 ERA in his last 20 appearances.
May 31 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh recorded his 12th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-1 on Wednesday. Oh struck out two, ending the game with a 2.88 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
May 28 8:55 AM PT9:55 AM MT10:55 AM CT11:55 AM ET11:55 ET15:55 GMT23:55 8:55 AM MST10:55 AM EST11:25 AM VEN19:55 UAE10:55 AM CT-Seung Hwan Oh recorded his 11th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Colorado Rockies 3-0 on Saturday. Oh struck out two, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
May 24 6:46 AM PT7:46 AM MT8:46 AM CT9:46 AM ET9:46 ET13:46 GMT21:46 6:46 AM MST8:46 AM EST9:16 AM VEN17:46 UAE8:46 AM CT-Seung Hwan Oh walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-1 on Tuesday. Oh struck out four, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
May 20 9:38 AM PT10:38 AM MT11:38 AM CT12:38 PM ET12:38 ET16:38 GMT0:38 9:38 AM MST11:38 AM EST12:08 PM VEN20:38 UAE11:38 AM CT-Seung Hwan Oh fell to 1-2, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Francisco Giants 6-5 on Friday. Oh struck out one, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
May 18 9:17 AM PT10:17 AM MT11:17 AM CT12:17 PM ET12:17 ET16:17 GMT0:17 9:17 AM MST11:17 AM EST11:47 AM VEN20:17 UAE11:17 AM CT-Seung Hwan Oh allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-4 on Wednesday. Oh struck out two, ending the game with a 2.61 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
May 13 6:55 PM PT7:55 PM MT8:55 PM CT9:55 PM ET21:55 ET1:55 GMT9:55 6:55 PM MST8:55 PM EST9:25 PM VEN5:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh recorded his 10th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 5-3 on Saturday. Oh did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
May 10 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Miami Marlins 7-5 on Wednesday. Oh did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.06 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Oh seems to be over his early-season struggles, as he's converted nine straight save chances and hasn't allowed an earned run over his last 11 appearances, a stretch spanning 12 innings.
May 10 9:33 PM PT10:33 PM MT11:33 PM CT12:33 AM ET0:33 ET4:33 GMT12:33 9:33 PM MST11:33 PM EST12:03 AM VEN8:33 UAE11:33 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Miami Marlins 6-5 on Tuesday. Oh did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.24 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
May 7 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-4 on Sunday. Oh struck out one, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
May 6 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Atlanta Braves 5-3 on Saturday. Oh did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.68 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
May 2 8:33 AM PT9:33 AM MT10:33 AM CT11:33 AM ET11:33 ET15:33 GMT23:33 8:33 AM MST10:33 AM EST11:03 AM VEN19:33 UAE10:33 AM CT-Seung Hwan Oh fell to 1-1, allowing three runs - zero earned - on two hits and one walk in 1.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-5 on Monday. Oh struck out two, ending the game with a 3.95 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-5 on Friday. Oh struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 5:03 PM PT6:03 PM MT7:03 PM CT8:03 PM ET20:03 ET0:03 GMT8:03 5:03 PM MST7:03 PM EST7:33 PM VEN4:03 UAE (+1)7:03 PM CT-Seung Hwan Oh did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4 on Thursday in the opener of a doubleheader. Oh struck out one, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 7:43 AM PT8:43 AM MT9:43 AM CT10:43 AM ET10:43 ET14:43 GMT22:43 7:43 AM MST9:43 AM EST10:13 AM VEN18:43 UAE9:43 AM CT-Oh worked out of a bases-loaded jam in the ninth inning to preserve a 2-1 lead and record the save in Tuesday's win over Pittsburgh.
Analysis: The Korean veteran continues to play with fire during the early part of the season. Oh also picked up the save in Monday's series opener despite allowing a run in the ninth and sports a troubling 8.10 ERA thus far. Opponents are hitting .375 against him.
Apr. 3 10:21 PM PT11:21 PM MT12:21 AM CT1:21 AM ET1:21 ET5:21 GMT13:21 10:21 PM MST12:21 AM EST12:51 AM VEN9:21 UAE12:21 AM CT-Oh blew the save but ended up getting the win in Sunday's 4-3 season-opening victory over the Cubs.
Analysis: Oh allowed three runs - all coming in on Willson Contreras' game-tying homer - over 1 2/3 innings. Oh had 19 saves and a 1.92 ERA last season, so we believe he'll bounce back rather quickly.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 StL 6 3 19 - 23 76 0 0 79.2 55 20 17 5 18 3 103 0.92 1.92
2017 StL 1 5 18 - 21 42 0 0 44.0 50 23 19 8 12 7 41 1.41 3.89
Career 7 8 37 - 44 118 0 0 123.2 105 43 36 13 30 10 144 1.09 2.62

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 StL 76 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 118 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 478 97 90 93 62.98
Curveball 14 78 73 75.2 1.84
Slider 204 90 79 85.6 26.88
Changeup 63 89 79 84.1 8.3

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.