MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#29
Welington Castillo
AVG HR RBI
.277 8 25
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 5-10 / 220 NFBC ADP: 178.76
Position: CBorn: 4/24/1987 Birthplace: San Isidro, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Cubs (2004)


Latest News
June 27 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Baltimore Orioles topped the Toronto Blue Jays 3-1. He ended the game with a .277 batting average.
June 24 5:57 PM PT6:57 PM MT7:57 PM CT8:57 PM ET20:57 ET0:57 GMT8:57 5:57 PM MST7:57 PM EST8:27 PM VEN4:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 1 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs Saturday as the Baltimore Orioles topped the Tampa Bay Rays 8-3. The homer was his eighth of the season. He ended the game with a .284 batting average.
June 23 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)10:02 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 1 for 3 Friday as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 15-5. He ended the game with a .287 batting average.
June 22 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 2 for 4 Thursday as the Baltimore Orioles fell to the Cleveland Indians 6-3. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
June 20 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Baltimore Orioles beat the Cleveland Indians 6-5. He ended the game with a .280 batting average.
June 20 7:58 AM PT8:58 AM MT9:58 AM CT10:58 AM ET10:58 ET14:58 GMT22:58 7:58 AM MST9:58 AM EST10:28 AM VEN18:58 UAE9:58 AM CT-Welington Castillo went 0 for 2 Monday as the Baltimore Orioles fell to the Cleveland Indians 12-0. He ended the game with a .288 batting average.
June 18 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)6:18 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Sunday as the Baltimore Orioles topped the St. Louis Cardinals 8-5. The homer was his seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .291 batting average.
June 17 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Baltimore Orioles topped the St. Louis Cardinals 15-7. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
June 16 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 0 for 3 Friday as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 11-2. He ended the game with a .292 batting average.
June 15 5:15 PM PT6:15 PM MT7:15 PM CT8:15 PM ET20:15 ET0:15 GMT8:15 5:15 PM MST7:15 PM EST7:45 PM VEN4:15 UAE (+1)7:15 PM CT-Castillo went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Thursday as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-2. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .298 batting average.
Analysis: He's homered in back-to-back games.
June 15 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE12:19 AM CT-Welington Castillo went 1 for 4 with a home run and five RBIs Wednesday as the Baltimore Orioles beat the Chicago White Sox 10-6. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .292 batting average.
June 13 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)10:25 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago White Sox 6-1. He ended the game with a .293 batting average.
Analysis: Castillo is 1 for 13 in four games since coming off the DL.
June 13 8:25 AM PT9:25 AM MT10:25 AM CT11:25 AM ET11:25 ET15:25 GMT23:25 8:25 AM MST10:25 AM EST10:55 AM VEN19:25 UAE10:25 AM CT-Welington Castillo went 1 for 4 Monday as the Baltimore Orioles fell to the Chicago White Sox 10-7. Castillo scored once. He ended the game with a .300 batting average.
June 11 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 14-3. He ended the game with a .302 batting average.
May 31 3:21 PM PT4:21 PM MT5:21 PM CT6:21 PM ET18:21 ET22:21 GMT6:21 3:21 PM MST5:21 PM EST5:51 PM VEN2:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-The Orioles have taken Castillo off the 10-day disabled list on Saturday.
Analysis: Castillo spent time in the emergency room Tuesday night after being hurt in the ninth inning of an 8-3 loss to the New York Yankees. The freak injury occurred when a pitch that hit New York's Didi Gregorius ricocheted downward and struck Castillo between the legs. Castillo is batting .317 with four homers and 17 RBIs.
May 30 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 8-3. He ended the game with a .317 batting average.
May 29 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 2 for 4 Monday as the Baltimore Orioles beat the New York Yankees 3-2. He ended the game with a .319 batting average.
May 28 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Houston Astros 8-4. Castillo scored once. He ended the game with a .313 batting average.
May 27 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 1 for 4 with an RBI Saturday as the Baltimore Orioles fell to the Houston Astros 5-2. He ended the game with a .315 batting average.
May 26 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)10:57 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 0 for 4 Friday as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Houston Astros 2-0. He ended the game with a .317 batting average.
Analysis: Castillo is 1 for 16 in his last four games after going 18 for 41 during a nine-game hitting streak.
May 23 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 1 for 3 Tuesday as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Minnesota Twins 2-0. He ended the game with a .330 batting average.
May 23 9:00 PM PT10:00 PM MT11:00 PM CT12:00 AM ET0:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 9:00 PM MST11:00 PM EST11:30 PM VEN8:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 0 for 5 Monday as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Minnesota Twins 14-7. Castillo scored once. He ended the game with a .330 batting average.
May 21 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-Castillo went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 3-1. He ended the game with a .348 batting average.
Analysis: Castillo's nine-game hitting streak came to an end Sunday.
May 20 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 1 for 3 with a home run and three RBIs Saturday as the Baltimore Orioles topped the Toronto Blue Jays 7-5. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .364 batting average.
Analysis: Castillo has three home runs in the last two games. He's 10-for-18 with three home runs and 10 RBIs in four games since coming off the disabled list.
May 20 9:39 PM PT10:39 PM MT11:39 PM CT12:39 AM ET0:39 ET4:39 GMT12:39 9:39 PM MST11:39 PM EST12:09 AM VEN8:39 UAE11:39 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 3 for 5 with two home runs and four RBIs Friday as the Baltimore Orioles beat the Toronto Blue Jays 5-3. The homers were his second and third of the season. He ended the game with a .365 batting average.
Analysis: Castillo has four straight 3-hit games and is 17 for 38 with three homers and 10 RBIs during an eight-game hit streak.
May 17 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 3 for 4 with an RBI Wednesday as the Baltimore Orioles fell to the Detroit Tigers 5-4. He ended the game with a .350 batting average.
Analysis: Castillo had his third straight three-hit game, and is 14 for 33 (.424) with a homer and six RBIs during a seven-game hit streak.
May 17 10:30 PM PT11:30 PM MT12:30 AM CT1:30 AM ET1:30 ET5:30 GMT13:30 10:30 PM MST12:30 AM EST1:00 AM VEN9:30 UAE12:30 AM CT-Welington Castillo went 3 for 6 with two RBIs Tuesday as the Baltimore Orioles topped the Detroit Tigers 13-11. Castillo scored twice. He ended the game with a .329 batting average.
Analysis: Castillo had his second straight three-hit game, though the two were separated by 16 days after he missed time with right shoulder tendinitis. Castillo is 11 for 29 during a six-game hit streak.
May 2 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Castillo (right shoulder tendinitis) is in the lineup Tuesday.
Analysis: Castillo was 8 for 23 with a homer and three RBIs during a five-game hitting streak before going on the DL on May 2. He's hit safely in 14 of 17 games this season.
Apr. 30 4:31 PM PT5:31 PM MT6:31 PM CT7:31 PM ET19:31 ET23:31 GMT7:31 4:31 PM MST6:31 PM EST7:01 PM VEN3:31 UAE (+1)6:31 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 3 for 6 with an RBI Sunday as the Baltimore Orioles beat the New York Yankees 7-4. He ended the game with a .314 batting average.
Analysis: Castillo had his second three-hit game of the season Sunday and is 8 for 23 with a homer and three RBIs during a five-game hitting streak. He's hit safely in 14 of 17 games this season.
Apr. 29 9:24 PM PT10:24 PM MT11:24 PM CT12:24 AM ET0:24 ET4:24 GMT12:24 9:24 PM MST11:24 PM EST11:54 PM VEN8:24 UAE11:24 PM CT-Welington Castillo went 1 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Friday as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 14-11 in 10 innings. The homer was his first of the season. Castillo scored twice. He ended the game with a .297 batting average.
Apr. 13 9:17 AM PT10:17 AM MT11:17 AM CT12:17 PM ET12:17 ET16:17 GMT0:17 9:17 AM MST11:17 AM EST11:47 AM VEN20:17 UAE11:17 AM CT-Castillo continued his hot start by going 3 for 5 with two RBIs and two runs scored in Wednesday's win at Boston.
Analysis: Castillo is now 9 for 22 (.409) through his first six games as an Oriole, though he entered Wednesday's contest with only one RBI. The offseason addition should continue to receive the majority of starts behind the plate with his new club.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 ChC 7 20 3 6 4 0 1 5 1 7 0 0 .300 .333 .650
2011 ChC 4 13 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .154 .154 .154
2012 ChC 52 170 16 45 11 0 5 22 17 51 0 0 .265 .337 .418
2013 ChC 113 380 41 104 23 0 8 32 34 97 2 0 .274 .349 .397
2014 ChC 110 380 28 90 19 0 13 46 26 102 0 0 .237 .296 .389
2015 ChC 24 43 5 7 2 0 2 5 3 12 0 0 .163 .234 .349
2015 Sea 6 25 3 4 0 0 0 2 1 5 0 0 .160 .179 .160
2015 Ari 80 274 34 70 13 1 17 50 21 75 0 0 .255 .317 .496
2015 Tot 110 342 42 81 15 1 19 57 25 92 0 0 .237 .296 .453
2016 Ari 113 416 41 110 24 0 14 68 33 121 2 0 .264 .322 .423
2017 Bal 44 173 20 48 6 0 8 25 8 47 0 0 .277 .309 .451
Career 553 1894 191 486 102 1 68 255 144 521 4 0 .257 .317 .419


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.