MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#27
Brandon Kintzler
ERA S K
2.72 27 26
Team: MinnesotaHt / Wt: 6-0 / 191 NFBC ADP: 254.98
Position: RPBorn: 8/1/1984 Birthplace: Las Vegas, Nevada
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 40th Round by Padres (2004)


Latest News
July 22 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler recorded his 27th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.1 innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Detroit Tigers 6-5 on Saturday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.11 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: This is obviously a nice season for Kintzler.
July 17 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)10:36 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler allowed no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the New York Yankees 4-2 on Monday. Kintzler struck out one, ending the game with a 2.18 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kintzler picked up his 26th save as light rain turned into a steady downpour at Target Field.
July 16 9:23 AM PT10:23 AM MT11:23 AM CT12:23 PM ET12:23 ET16:23 GMT0:23 9:23 AM MST11:23 AM EST11:53 AM VEN20:23 UAE11:23 AM CT-Brandon Kintzler recorded his 25th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Houston Astros 4-2 on Saturday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.23 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
July 12 9:17 PM PT10:17 PM MT11:17 PM CT12:17 AM ET0:17 ET4:17 GMT12:17 9:17 PM MST11:17 PM EST11:47 PM VEN8:17 UAE11:17 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the AL All-Stars defeated the NL All-Stars 2-1 on Tuesday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
July 8 9:23 PM PT10:23 PM MT11:23 PM CT12:23 AM ET0:23 ET4:23 GMT12:23 9:23 PM MST11:23 PM EST11:53 PM VEN8:23 UAE11:23 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler recorded his 24th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Baltimore Orioles 9-6 on Friday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.29 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
July 6 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET3:52 GMT11:52 8:52 PM MST10:52 PM EST11:22 PM VEN7:52 UAE (+1)10:52 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler recorded his 23rd save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-4 on Thursday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.35 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kintzler has pitched nine innings without allowing an earned run. He's converted all six save chances in that span.
July 4 4:55 PM PT5:55 PM MT6:55 PM CT7:55 PM ET19:55 ET23:55 GMT7:55 4:55 PM MST6:55 PM EST7:25 PM VEN3:55 UAE (+1)6:55 PM CT-Kintzler recorded his 22nd save, allowing one run - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Los Angeles Angels 5-4 on Tuesday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter.
Analysis: He has a 2.41 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
July 4 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Los Angeles Angels 9-5 on Monday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.48 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
July 2 10:07 AM PT11:07 AM MT12:07 PM CT1:07 PM ET13:07 ET17:07 GMT1:07 10:07 AM MST12:07 PM EST12:37 PM VEN21:07 UAE12:07 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Kansas City Royals 10-5 on Saturday. Kintzler struck out one, ending the game with a 2.55 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
June 29 9:04 AM PT10:04 AM MT11:04 AM CT12:04 PM ET12:04 ET16:04 GMT0:04 9:04 AM MST11:04 AM EST11:34 AM VEN20:04 UAE11:04 AM CT-Brandon Kintzler recorded his 21st save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-1 on Wednesday. Kintzler struck out one, ending the game with a 2.62 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 25 4:40 PM PT5:40 PM MT6:40 PM CT7:40 PM ET19:40 ET23:40 GMT7:40 4:40 PM MST6:40 PM EST7:10 PM VEN3:40 UAE (+1)6:40 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Cleveland Indians 4-0 on Sunday. Kintzler struck out one, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 24 6:06 PM PT7:06 PM MT8:06 PM CT9:06 PM ET21:06 ET1:06 GMT9:06 6:06 PM MST8:06 PM EST8:36 PM VEN5:06 UAE (+1)8:06 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler allowed no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Cleveland Indians 4-2 on Saturday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.78 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kintzler pitched the ninth for his 20th save. Francisco Lindor doubled with two outs, but center fielder Byron Buxton made a diving catch of Kipnis' liner to end the game.
June 22 9:06 PM PT10:06 PM MT11:06 PM CT12:06 AM ET0:06 ET4:06 GMT12:06 9:06 PM MST11:06 PM EST11:36 PM VEN8:06 UAE11:06 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler allowed no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Chicago White Sox 4-2 on Wednesday. Kintzler struck out one, ending the game with a 2.87 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kintzler pitched a scoreless ninth inning for the second straight night, notching his 19th save in 22 opportunities.
June 21 8:17 AM PT9:17 AM MT10:17 AM CT11:17 AM ET11:17 ET15:17 GMT23:17 8:17 AM MST10:17 AM EST10:47 AM VEN19:17 UAE10:17 AM CT-Brandon Kintzler recorded his 18th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Chicago White Sox 9-7 on Tuesday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.97 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
June 18 4:41 PM PT5:41 PM MT6:41 PM CT7:41 PM ET19:41 ET23:41 GMT7:41 4:41 PM MST6:41 PM EST7:11 PM VEN3:41 UAE (+1)6:41 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Cleveland Indians 5-2 on Sunday. Kintzler struck out one, ending the game with a 3.07 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
June 15 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Seattle Mariners 6-2 on Thursday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.86 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
June 11 9:11 AM PT10:11 AM MT11:11 AM CT12:11 PM ET12:11 ET16:11 GMT0:11 9:11 AM MST11:11 AM EST11:41 AM VEN20:11 UAE11:11 AM CT-Brandon Kintzler allowed no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the San Francisco Giants 3-2 on Saturday. Kintzler struck out one, ending the game with a 2.96 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kintzler, the Twins' third reliever, finished with a 1-2-3 ninth for his 17th save in 18 chances.
June 9 9:39 AM PT10:39 AM MT11:39 AM CT12:39 PM ET12:39 ET16:39 GMT0:39 9:39 AM MST11:39 AM EST12:09 PM VEN20:39 UAE11:39 AM CT-Brandon Kintzler allowed no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Seattle Mariners 2-1 on Thursday. Kintzler struck out two, ending the game with a 3.08 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: A day after giving up a game-winning home run in the ninth, Kintzler got the final three outs for his 16th save. "You're always happy to get your closer back out there if you can after a little bit of a hiccup,'' manager Paul Molitor said.
June 8 9:54 AM PT10:54 AM MT11:54 AM CT12:54 PM ET12:54 ET16:54 GMT0:54 9:54 AM MST11:54 AM EST12:24 PM VEN20:54 UAE11:54 AM CT-Brandon Kintzler fell to 2-1, allowing two runs on two hits in 0.2 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Seattle Mariners 6-5 on Wednesday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.20 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kintzler gave up the game-winning two-run homer to Mike Zunino in the ninth inning, suffering his third blown save in 18 chances. He's looked very vulnerable lately, getting scored upon in three of his last five appearances while allowing five runs and seven hits.
June 5 7:40 AM PT8:40 AM MT9:40 AM CT10:40 AM ET10:40 ET14:40 GMT22:40 7:40 AM MST9:40 AM EST10:10 AM VEN18:40 UAE9:40 AM CT-Brandon Kintzler recorded his 15th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Los Angeles Angels 3-2 on Sunday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.55 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 2 8:54 AM PT9:54 AM MT10:54 AM CT11:54 AM ET11:54 ET15:54 GMT23:54 8:54 AM MST10:54 AM EST11:24 AM VEN19:54 UAE10:54 AM CT-Brandon Kintzler recorded his 14th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Los Angeles Angels 4-2 on Thursday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.66 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kintzler got back on track after allowing three runs over his previous two appearances. Still, he's been pretty good and a nice source of saves for the surprising Twins this season.
May 28 7:03 PM PT8:03 PM MT9:03 PM CT10:03 PM ET22:03 ET2:03 GMT10:03 7:03 PM MST9:03 PM EST9:33 PM VEN6:03 UAE (+1)9:03 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler blew his second save, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-6 on Sunday. Kintzler struck out two, ending the game with a 2.78 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kintzler has surrendered three runs in his last 1 2/3 innings after throwing 7 2/3 scoreless in his previous seven appearances.
May 27 4:46 PM PT5:46 PM MT6:46 PM CT7:46 PM ET19:46 ET23:46 GMT7:46 4:46 PM MST6:46 PM EST7:16 PM VEN3:46 UAE (+1)6:46 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler recorded his 13th save, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-3 on Saturday. Kintzler struck out one, ending the game with a 2.05 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
May 24 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Kintzler recorded his 12th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Baltimore Orioles 4-3 on Wednesday. Kintzler struck out one, ending the game with a 1.71 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: If somehow available in fantasy circles, get on that.
May 22 10:37 AM PT11:37 AM MT12:37 PM CT1:37 PM ET13:37 ET17:37 GMT1:37 10:37 AM MST12:37 PM EST1:07 PM VEN21:37 UAE12:37 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Kansas City Royals 8-4 on Sunday. Kintzler struck out two, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
May 20 9:25 PM PT10:25 PM MT11:25 PM CT12:25 AM ET0:25 ET4:25 GMT12:25 9:25 PM MST11:25 PM EST11:55 PM VEN8:25 UAE11:25 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler improved to 2-0, allowing two hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Kansas City Royals 4-3 on Friday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.89 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
May 19 8:23 AM PT9:23 AM MT10:23 AM CT11:23 AM ET11:23 ET15:23 GMT23:23 8:23 AM MST10:23 AM EST10:53 AM VEN19:23 UAE10:23 AM CT-Brandon Kintzler recorded his 11th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Colorado Rockies 2-0 on Thursday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.00 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 13 4:39 PM PT5:39 PM MT6:39 PM CT7:39 PM ET19:39 ET23:39 GMT7:39 4:39 PM MST6:39 PM EST7:09 PM VEN3:39 UAE (+1)6:39 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler recorded his 10th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Cleveland Indians 4-1 on Saturday. Kintzler struck out one, ending the game with a 2.12 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It was his third save in three games.
May 12 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)9:02 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Cleveland Indians 1-0 on Friday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 12 9:04 PM PT10:04 PM MT11:04 PM CT12:04 AM ET0:04 ET4:04 GMT12:04 9:04 PM MST11:04 PM EST11:34 PM VEN8:04 UAE11:04 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.2 innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-6 on Thursday. Kintzler struck out three, ending the game with a 2.40 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 5 8:59 PM PT9:59 PM MT10:59 PM CT11:59 PM ET23:59 ET3:59 GMT11:59 8:59 PM MST10:59 PM EST11:29 PM VEN7:59 UAE (+1)10:59 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler improved to 1-0, allowing two runs on three hits in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-3 on Friday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
May 4 9:16 AM PT10:16 AM MT11:16 AM CT12:16 PM ET12:16 ET16:16 GMT0:16 9:16 AM MST11:16 AM EST11:46 AM VEN20:16 UAE11:16 AM CT-Brandon Kintzler allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Oakland Athletics 7-4 on Wednesday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.46 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 5:12 PM PT6:12 PM MT7:12 PM CT8:12 PM ET20:12 ET0:12 GMT8:12 5:12 PM MST7:12 PM EST7:42 PM VEN4:12 UAE (+1)7:12 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler recorded his seventh save, allowing one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Kansas City Royals 7-5 on Sunday. Kintzler struck out one, ending the game with a 0.79 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kintzler allowed his first run of the season Sunday, ending his stretch of 10 1/3 scoreless innings. He's converted all seven of his save opportunities.
Apr. 29 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-Brandon Kintzler recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-4 on Friday. Kintzler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)10:57 PM CT-Kintzler continued his superb start with a scoreless ninth Monday at Texas to pick up his fifth save.
Analysis: Kintzler has allowed just four hits over 9 1/3 scoreless innings with four walks and five strikeouts this season.
Apr. 6 4:56 PM PT5:56 PM MT6:56 PM CT7:56 PM ET19:56 ET23:56 GMT7:56 4:56 PM MST6:56 PM EST7:26 PM VEN3:56 UAE (+1)6:56 PM CT-Kintzler pitched a perfect ninth for his first save Thursday against the Royals. He's the closer with Glen Perkins still recovering from shoulder surgery.
Analysis: Kintzler converted 17 of 20 save chances to go along with a 3.15 ERA in 54 appearances last season.
Mar. 1 3:56 PM PT4:56 PM MT5:56 PM CT6:56 PM ET18:56 ET23:56 GMT7:56 4:56 PM MST6:56 PM EST7:26 PM VEN3:56 UAE (+1)5:56 PM CT-With Glen Perkins still recovering from shoulder surgery, Kintzler is expected to begin the season as the Twins' closer.
Analysis: Kintzler took charge of the team's ninth-inning duties last season, converting 17 of 20 chances to go along with a 3.15 ERA in 54 appearances.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 Mil 0 1 0 - 0 7 0 0 7.1 10 6 6 2 4 1 9 1.91 7.36
2011 Mil 1 1 0 - 0 9 0 0 14.2 14 9 6 3 3 0 15 1.16 3.68
2012 Mil 3 0 0 - 0 14 0 0 16.2 18 7 7 1 7 1 14 1.50 3.78
2013 Mil 3 3 0 - 4 71 0 0 77.0 66 26 23 2 16 2 58 1.06 2.69
2014 Mil 3 3 0 - 3 64 0 0 58.1 62 22 21 8 16 3 31 1.34 3.24
2015 Mil 0 1 0 - 0 7 0 0 7.0 12 6 5 1 5 0 7 2.43 6.43
2016 Min 0 2 17 - 20 54 0 0 54.1 59 22 19 5 8 1 35 1.23 3.15
2017 Min 2 1 27 - 30 43 0 0 43.0 37 14 13 3 10 1 26 1.09 2.72
Career 12 12 44 - 57 269 0 0 278.1 278 112 100 25 69 9 195 1.25 3.23

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Mil 9 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Mil 7 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 269 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 541 97 89 93.5 80.15
Slider 109 90 83 87 16.15
Changeup 25 90 86 88.8 3.7

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.