MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#28
Matt Olson
AVG HR RBI
.221 8 16
Team: OaklandHt / Wt: 6-5 / 228 NFBC ADP: 705.68
Position: LFBorn: 3/29/1994 Birthplace: Atlanta, Georgia
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Athletics (2012)


Latest News
Aug. 20 5:08 PM PT6:08 PM MT7:08 PM CT8:08 PM ET20:08 ET0:08 GMT8:08 5:08 PM MST7:08 PM EST7:38 PM VEN4:08 UAE (+1)7:08 PM CT-Matt Olson went 1 for 3 Sunday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Houston Astros 3-2. He ended the game with a .221 batting average.
Aug. 20 9:00 PM PT10:00 PM MT11:00 PM CT12:00 AM ET0:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 9:00 PM MST11:00 PM EST11:30 PM VEN8:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Matt Olson went 1 for 2 Saturday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Houston Astros 3-0. He ended the game with a .217 batting average.
Aug. 18 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Matt Olson went 0 for 1 Friday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Houston Astros 3-1. He ended the game with a .210 batting average.
Aug. 16 4:57 PM PT5:57 PM MT6:57 PM CT7:57 PM ET19:57 ET23:57 GMT7:57 4:57 PM MST6:57 PM EST7:27 PM VEN3:57 UAE (+1)6:57 PM CT-Matt Olson went 0 for 1 Wednesday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Kansas City Royals 7-6. He ended the game with a .213 batting average.
Aug. 16 8:33 AM PT9:33 AM MT10:33 AM CT11:33 AM ET11:33 ET15:33 GMT23:33 8:33 AM MST10:33 AM EST11:03 AM VEN19:33 UAE10:33 AM CT-Matt Olson went 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Tuesday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Kansas City Royals 10-8. The homer was his eighth of the season. Olson scored twice. He ended the game with a .215 batting average.
Aug. 15 10:30 AM PT11:30 AM MT12:30 PM CT1:30 PM ET13:30 ET17:30 GMT1:30 10:30 AM MST12:30 PM EST1:00 PM VEN21:30 UAE12:30 PM CT-Matt Olson went 0 for 4 Monday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Kansas City Royals 6-2. He ended the game with a .200 batting average.
Aug. 13 6:47 PM PT7:47 PM MT8:47 PM CT9:47 PM ET21:47 ET1:47 GMT9:47 6:47 PM MST8:47 PM EST9:17 PM VEN5:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-Matt Olson went 1 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Sunday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Baltimore Orioles 9-3. The homer was his seventh of the season. Olson scored twice. He ended the game with a .211 batting average.
Analysis: Olson has homered in three straight games, knocking in five runs in that span.
Aug. 13 9:28 AM PT10:28 AM MT11:28 AM CT12:28 PM ET12:28 ET16:28 GMT0:28 9:28 AM MST11:28 AM EST11:58 AM VEN20:28 UAE11:28 AM CT-Matt Olson went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Baltimore Orioles 12-5. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .209 batting average.
Analysis: The rookie went deep for the second straight game and has hit safely in four of five games since being recalled from the minors.
Aug. 12 9:56 AM PT10:56 AM MT11:56 AM CT12:56 PM ET12:56 ET16:56 GMT0:56 9:56 AM MST11:56 AM EST12:26 PM VEN20:56 UAE11:56 AM CT-Matt Olson went 1 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Friday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Baltimore Orioles 5-4. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .206 batting average.
Analysis: His two-run shot off Ubaldo Jimenez in the fourth inning was Olson's first home run in four games since being recalled from Triple-A Nashville on Tuesday. "That one felt pretty good," Olson said. "I'd had a couple of tough at-bats up here so far. So it felt nice to connect on one." Olson's five home runs with Baltimore have come in just 63 at-bats.
Aug. 11 7:48 AM PT8:48 AM MT9:48 AM CT10:48 AM ET10:48 ET14:48 GMT22:48 7:48 AM MST9:48 AM EST10:18 AM VEN18:48 UAE9:48 AM CT-Matt Olson went 0 for 3 Thursday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Baltimore Orioles 7-2. He ended the game with a .203 batting average.
Aug. 9 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Matt Olson went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Seattle Mariners 6-3. He ended the game with a .214 batting average.
Aug. 9 10:31 PM PT11:31 PM MT12:31 AM CT1:31 AM ET1:31 ET5:31 GMT13:31 10:31 PM MST12:31 AM EST1:01 AM VEN9:31 UAE12:31 AM CT-Matt Olson went 1 for 1 Tuesday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Seattle Mariners 7-6. He ended the game with a .212 batting average.
July 23 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Matt Olson went 1 for 1 Sunday as the Oakland Athletics beat the New York Mets 3-2. He ended the game with a .196 batting average.
July 21 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Matt Olson went 0 for 1 Friday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the New York Mets 7-5. He ended the game with a .180 batting average.
July 3 8:55 AM PT9:55 AM MT10:55 AM CT11:55 AM ET11:55 ET15:55 GMT23:55 8:55 AM MST10:55 AM EST11:25 AM VEN19:55 UAE10:55 AM CT-Matt Olson went 1 for 5 Sunday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Atlanta Braves 4-3. He ended the game with a .184 batting average.
July 1 6:03 PM PT7:03 PM MT8:03 PM CT9:03 PM ET21:03 ET1:03 GMT9:03 6:03 PM MST8:03 PM EST8:33 PM VEN5:03 UAE (+1)8:03 PM CT-Matt Olson went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Atlanta Braves 4-3. He ended the game with a .182 batting average.
July 1 8:40 AM PT9:40 AM MT10:40 AM CT11:40 AM ET11:40 ET15:40 GMT23:40 8:40 AM MST10:40 AM EST11:10 AM VEN19:40 UAE10:40 AM CT-Matt Olson went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Friday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Atlanta Braves 3-1. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .175 batting average.
Analysis: The rookie foiled Mike Foltynewicz's no-hit bid by leading off the bottom of the ninth with his fourth home run in six games. Olson has knocked in six runs during that stretch and has plenty of power potential, as he hit 37 homers in Single A in 2014 and had 17 in 58 games for Triple-A Nashville prior to his call-up on June 22.
June 29 3:33 PM PT4:33 PM MT5:33 PM CT6:33 PM ET18:33 ET22:33 GMT6:33 3:33 PM MST5:33 PM EST6:03 PM VEN2:33 UAE (+1)5:33 PM CT-Matt Olson went 1 for 4 Thursday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Houston Astros 6-1. He ended the game with a .167 batting average.
June 29 9:20 PM PT10:20 PM MT11:20 PM CT12:20 AM ET0:20 ET4:20 GMT12:20 9:20 PM MST11:20 PM EST11:50 PM VEN8:20 UAE11:20 PM CT-Matt Olson went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Wednesday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Houston Astros 11-8. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .156 batting average.
June 28 8:55 AM PT9:55 AM MT10:55 AM CT11:55 AM ET11:55 ET15:55 GMT23:55 8:55 AM MST10:55 AM EST11:25 AM VEN19:55 UAE10:55 AM CT-Matt Olson went 0 for 5 Tuesday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Houston Astros 6-4. He ended the game with a .143 batting average.
June 26 11:09 AM PT12:09 PM MT1:09 PM CT2:09 PM ET14:09 ET18:09 GMT2:09 11:09 AM MST1:09 PM EST1:39 PM VEN22:09 UAE1:09 PM CT-Matt Olson went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Chicago White Sox 5-3. He ended the game with a .174 batting average.
June 24 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Matt Olson went 2 for 3 with two home runs and four RBIs Saturday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Chicago White Sox 10-2. The homers were his first and second of the season. He ended the game with a .200 batting average.
Analysis: Olson, Jaycob Brugman and Franklin Barreto became the second trio of teammates to hit their first career home runs in the same game. Olson is 4 for 11 with three extra-base hits, six RBIs, three runs and four walks in three games since being recalled from the minors Thursday.
June 23 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Matt Olson went 0 for 5 Friday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Chicago White Sox 3-0. He ended the game with a .118 batting average.
June 22 6:14 PM PT7:14 PM MT8:14 PM CT9:14 PM ET21:14 ET1:14 GMT9:14 6:14 PM MST8:14 PM EST8:44 PM VEN5:14 UAE (+1)8:14 PM CT-Olson went 2 for 3 with a double and two RBIs Thursday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Houston Astros 12-9. Olson scored once. He ended the game with a .167 batting average.
Analysis: He is 2 for 12 on the season.
June 10 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Olson went 0 for 5 in Game 2 on Saturday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Tampa Bay Rays 7-2. He ended the game with a .000 batting average.
Analysis: He is 0 for 9 in four games this season.
June 10 3:10 PM PT4:10 PM MT5:10 PM CT6:10 PM ET18:10 ET22:10 GMT6:10 3:10 PM MST5:10 PM EST5:40 PM VEN2:10 UAE (+1)5:10 PM CT-Matt Olson went 0 for 1 Saturday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-5. He ended the game with a .000 batting average.
June 5 7:35 AM PT8:35 AM MT9:35 AM CT10:35 AM ET10:35 ET14:35 GMT22:35 7:35 AM MST9:35 AM EST10:05 AM VEN18:35 UAE9:35 AM CT-Matt Olson went 0 for 0 with an RBI Sunday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Washington Nationals 11-10. Olson scored once. He ended the game with a .000 batting average.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Oak 11 21 3 2 1 0 0 0 7 4 0 0 .095 .321 .143
2017 Oak 31 87 12 20 1 0 8 16 9 33 0 0 .230 .316 .517
Career 42 108 15 22 2 0 8 16 16 37 0 0 .204 .317 .444


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.